top of page

Victorious on Purpose

Find yourself in scripture

Ever go away for a few days and come back to chaos? A well-deserved excursion that was so relaxing, peaceful, and jovial. Or in my case spiritual and filled with confirmation, that you came back changed? I have! What I came back to shattered my world.  Well, at least that was my first thought.  We are human and when you are babies in Christ or even a seasoned saint you tend to react to certain circumstances and situations with a mindset of the flesh and not the mindset of Christ. It’s normal, as long as you don’t stay in that fleshly mindset. 

Earlier this year, I attended a women’s conference. The conference facilitator said that no matter what you go through you can find a solution to the problem in scripture. Find yourself in scripture.  After she gave her testimony, I could not help but to believe this to be true. I started reading the bible in a different light.  Then when my world, or what I thought it to be, was shattered I remembered to find myself in the scripture.

In 1 Samuel 30:1-20, David went to a place he was instructed to go only to find that the entire city was burned and the residents had been captured, including His family. No one was killed.  As the scripture reads, David and the army cried until they had no more strength. The people with him blamed David and wanted him stoned to death because if they had not been with him this would not have happened.  How many times in our reality have you heard this response to a tragedy, “If only I had been there, this would not have happened or I could have protected my child, brother, sister, or wife”? I myself just felt this very same way.  I place the blame on myself when in reality, it would have happened whether I was 10 miles away or 10 steps away.  It had to happen, but back to David.  David eventually got through his moment of pity and asked God for direction. In other words, he prayed.  He received clarity and answers from God that led him and his army to the kidnapped people of his town and the perpetrators who took them.  David and his army attacked the men who captured their town, they rescued every woman and child and retrieved everything else that was stolen from the village!

The lesson here is when trials and tribulations occur, have your moment, get up, brush yourself off, and return to battle. Spiritual warfare is real and can occur at any moment so you always have to be armed and prepared for battle. 

For me, I found myself meditating on the Word and praying. Crying and praying. Sitting in silence and praying. I had my moments throughout the day and at one-point fear and doubt was so heavy that thinking was out of the question. I’ve held on to faith as hard as I could. Some days, I’ll be honest, I let go of it.  But like in Isiah 53:6 says we are like sheep and stray. Thankfully those days were very few and thankful for God’s rod and staff. I kept trying to make sense of this whole ordeal then I was led to read Proverbs 3:5 and I stop trying to understand.  I knew the devil was mad at me.  I found it so hard to believe that my only response was an ugly girl cry asking “why come after the ones I love if you’re mad at me! They have nothing to do with this.” Then there was this crystal-clear moment, “find yourself in scripture”.

Whatever we are going through and we need guidance, we should not only pray but meditate on His Word, day and night.  This one morning, I was reading my daily devotional. The scripture was Ezekiel 28: 12-19, which described the background of the Devil. The text explained how in spiritual warfare that we show know the enemy, who he is and his methods of attack.  The devil’s MO is to steal kill and destroy and he will do this by any means necessary.  The next scripture reference of that same devotional was Revelations 12:7-17.  It was after reading this that I felt a burden lifted from my spirit.  I found myself as the woman in this text and I praised God for Apostle Robbin of St. James Bible Deliverance Church, The Embassy, and her teaching and understanding of this life lesson. In this scripture a woman dressed in the sun, with the moon under her feet and a crown of 12 stars was on her head.  She was pregnant.  She cried out in pain and agony from the labor pains.  Then there was a 7-headed dragon that was waiting to take her child.  The woman gave birth to a son, but he was snatched away and taken to God for protection.  The woman fled into the wilderness, where God set up a place for her to be protected.

It all made perfect sense.  The devil knew that I had a purpose and it was about to be a blessing to others.  Because I was on the verge of birthing out this purpose, he needed me to miscarry.  The devil couldn’t come after me directly so he used the someone closest to me to attack me and He used my pride and joy to do it.  For a moment, just like David, I cried until I could cry no more.  And just like the sun-dressed woman that birth and fled to safety, I did the same. 

Today, I am in the midst of a storm that I would not wish on anyone but I stand on the belief that God made me to be a “seven-headed dragon slaying twelve starred crown wearing Top Model” named Victory! The devil does not win because God’s word has already declared me more than a conqueror.  God’s plan and purpose for me will not go undelivered! A message to the devil… I did not miscarry.  I am still pregnant with a purpose.  My purpose was still born but resuscitated in vitro! Just like He is doing it for me, He will do it for you. 

Every trial we face is to make us stronger.  As I face this one, I have learned who is there for me and that prayer and faith are my greatest weapons.  People will tell you that God will not give you more than you can bear or anything you can’t handle.  This is a misconception and not even in scripture.  God gave Moses 600,000 hard to please people to travel with, so He definitely will give us way more than we can handle just to keep us grounded in our faith and belief in Him and that His will be done.  I am truly thankful for this test, because it has showed me strength I did not know I had.   When you find yourself in a situation, open the Bible and find yourself in scripture.  

Father God, I come to you with praise and thanksgiving. I come thanking you for this opportunity to be a blessing and inspiration to the person that is reading this messages this moment. God I asked that you blessed the reader of this message, that they may receive comfort in knowing that they may find themselves in scripture, and that the answers to all their problems situations and concerns can be found in your Word and your Word is true.  Because I found myself in scripture I am able to move forward and I praise your Holy name. Father God I give you all the honor and  glory in the mighty name of Jesus Christ, Amen!  


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page