top of page

Victorious on Purpose

You've Been Pre-Approved!!!


One day after a long day, I stopped by the mailbox to retrieve my mail. It’s been a few days...who am I kidding; it's been a couple of weeks... since I checked my mailbox last so I grabbed a bag from the console to use to gather my mail. After stuffing the bag with the contents, I proceeded to my designated parking space, put the car in park, shut the engine off, and proceeded to sort the mail. Sale advertisements, a few envelopes addressed to the previous tenants (who moved out 11 years ago), and some other miscellaneous pieces of mail. I do not expect many invoices because I go green whenever possible but what caught my eye was the plain white envelope with big red capital letters that read, "PRE-APPROVED". Pre-approved without my credit information, really?!?!?!?! To the shredder it goes...

There was a time in my life when I would feed into the pre-approved car loan advertisements hoping for a better rate or a pre-approved credit card to consolidate for a lower interest rate only to find out I was never fully and completely "pre-approved". It is always an underlying condition that needs to be met before you could qualify or obtained credit. I use to wonder how this worked? How can I be pre-approved for something I never actually asked or apply for? And if I am pre-approved, then why are additional questions asked or more information needed to satisfy some other condition? Pre-approval does not mean you are getting the loan or mortgage; it's not even a commitment. Pre-approve simply means what you could be approved for "IF" you can prove your worthiness. You have to meet certain conditions which may include your credit rating, credit score, the amount you have in the bank, your income before and after tax, your income to debt ratio (the money left after all your bills are paid), and credit history... hmm for some this may not be a pretty picture. Well, what if you do not meet those qualifications? You then hear those dreadful words, “I'm sorry but you do not qualify at this time" I used to get so down when I heard these words. It was a feeling of unworthiness and rejection. How could I prove to someone that I was worth the risk?

During my walk with Christ, I learned that we as Christians have been pre-approved and someone died because we were worth the risk. His name is Jesus Christ and He paid the ultimate price to prove our worthiness. Our credit rating was in a very bad state but Jesus consolidated the debts of all those who believe to His account. It says in Romans 5:8, "But Christ shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us." All our debts were paid in full with the blood of Christ. When we were looking for a loan to pay off our debts, Christ showed us favor by erasing our debts, our sins, our liabilities, and our indebtedness. In John 3:16, “For Christ so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life." What Christ did was pre-approved us for unlimited credit and the highest credit card there is... The Master's Card! There are only three qualificationsn, none of them depends on the amount of money you do or do not have, your credit rating or your credit score...Those three qualifications are what my Pastor calls the ABCs of salvation. First you must (A)dmit that you are a sinner. The Bible tells us that we are all born into sin. Second you must (B)elieve in Jesus, that he is the son of Christ, and that is your only hope of salvation. The last qualification is that you must ( C )onfess that Jesus is your Lord and Savior. If you do these things, you can use the Masters' Card anywhere and you can never leave home without it. With this card, I worry about nothing. With this card I can do all things... I love this card... Each day I'm shown favor and mercy with blessing of a new day, my card has a zero balance; paid in full!!! When I praise him for his many blessing, He increases my limit!

Some days I do fall short... I'm not perfect. I slip up... In life we make mistakes. With, creditors if you miss a payment or two, send a check that is returned for insufficient funds, or go over your limit, they will charge you a fee or even suspend your credit. But God... HE will not suspend your credit line. God will not cut you off. God will not report you to the credit rating agency. God has unlimited accident forgiveness!!!

Let’s not forget the new thing called "Pre-Paid Credit/Debit Cards" for people who can not get credit for whatever reason. There are so many to choose from... Russell Simmons and Kimora Lee have the Rush Card; American Express has the Bluebird or the Serve Card. Even Wal-Mart has one. The way they work is you deposit or "load" an amount of money to the card and use it where Visa and MasterCard are accepted. The thing is you can only spend what you load onto the card. So basically you pre-pay your purchase... But what I like about the Master's Card is it also work just like the pre-paid card... It has pre-paid my salvation “You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly (Romans 5:6). My healing has been paid in full for God’s word says, “But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was on him, and by his wounds we are healed (Isaiah 53:5). Oh and lets not forget retirement home has also been paid in full for the Bible tells us in John 14:1-3, “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am”

I now look at those "Pre-approval" mailings and smile with joy, because I know Christ has "Pre-Approved" me a long time ago… There is nothing better than having the Masters’ Card… Never leave home with out it!


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page